In Florida, theft crimes fall into two categories, grand theft, and petit (which most people call “petty”) theft. The distinguishing factor in both categories is the value of the property stolen and the type of property. The categories of theft can be confusing for most people; hence it takes the help of an attorney to understand the legal aspects of theft.
Suppose you are charged with petit theft, don’t wait to appear in Court without legal representation because you will be risking adverse consequences. One of our competent Criminal Defense Attorney’s is on standby to help with a free consultation.
What is Petit Theft?
The statutory term for petty theft in Florida is petit theft. As the name suggests, petit theft refers to the lowest level of theft on the theft categories. Further, petit theft is divided into two categories, which are also dependent on the value of property stolen, petit theft of the second degree, and petit theft of the second degree.
Penalties for Petit Theft in Florida
The maximum jail term for petit theft is a definite term of imprisonment not exceeding one year (12 months) because it is categorized as a misdemeanor. However, alternative punitive measures that are non-custodial are also available dependent on the circumstances each case presents.
Petit Theft Crimes are Punishable Under the 812.014 Florida Statute as Follows:
The maximum penalty for a retail theft or shoplifting accusation depends on the value of the item taken, as shown below:
- If the value of the item taken was:
- less than $100, then the offense will be charged as a petit theft in the second degree which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine plus court costs
- more than $750, then the offense will be charged as a petit theft in the first degree which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Exceptions to this are:
- If the individual has ever been convicted of any two other theft offenses, then the person can be charged with Felony Petit Theft regardless of the value of the property, which is a third-degree felony punishable by 5 years in prison, and a $5,000.00 fine plus court costs.
- If the value of the item taken from a retail establishment was more than $750, then the offense can be charged as felony retail theft, which is also a third-degree felony.
- For any theft from a dwelling, you can be charged with grand theft if the property was taken from a dwelling is worth more than $100, but less than $75.
Why You Need the Services of an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney
Suppose you are facing petty theft charges, legal representation is an asset in your case. Being charged does not translate to a guilty verdict; you can still defend your case and get a favorable outcome. Therefore you can use all the legal help you can get.
Our Attorneys At Florida Defense Team can become the help you deserve. Please book a consultation with us as soon as you can, let us go through your charges and discuss the legal options you have.
Our team of competent attorneys knows the impact a petit theft charge can have on your life. Having handled diverse clientele in other criminal charges, we have the experience and knowledge that you can use to your advantage before a court of law. As you plan to contact us, remember, we are here to serve you not to judge you.